Twenty-five 2019 high school graduates from Marshall County have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA), which is only awarded to those with a 4.0 grade point average for each year of high school and a minimum score of 28 on the ACT.

Those awarded are: Nathanael Hummel with Christian Fellowship School; Jackson Chumbler with Gatton Academy; Cameron Armstrong, Emily Bridges, Keeley Butler, Allison Chancellor, Nathan Clark, Tory Driskill, Russell Edwards, Megan Fiessinger, Claire Harmon, Weston Harper, Charolette Harrington, Matthew Hilbrecht, Kathryn Howard, Kaylee Jones, Jacob Largent, John Miller, Chloe Murt, Abigail Oakley, Molly Robinson, Benjamin Samson, Paige Story, Elana Woosley and Cole Wyatt with Marshall County High School.

These students have also earned Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards they will be albe to use to pay for education after high school; they are eligible for $2,500 per year in KEES funds for up to four years of postsecondary education.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit; write KHEAA, P.O. Box 798, Frankfort, KY 40602; or call 800-928-8926, ext. 6-7214.

KHEAA also disburses low-cost Advantage Education Loans, the state’s only non-profit private education loan. For more information, visit