MCHS students selected to attend Governor’s Scholars Program

  • 1 min to read
MCHS Students Selected to Attend Governor’s Scholars Program

Madison Clark

Marshall County High School has announced that three juniors and one alternate have been selected to attend this year’s Governor’s Scholars Program.

Congratulations to the following students: Madison Clark, Madelyn Goins (alternate), Karly Jones, and Ethan Morgan.

The Governor’s Scholars Program is a five-week summer residential program for outstanding high school students in Kentucky who are rising seniors. The Program originated in 1983 as a result of Kentucky leaders’ concern that the state’s “best and brightest” were leaving the commonwealth to pursue educational and career opportunities elsewhere without fully understanding the potential of their talents at home. The program’s mission is to enhance Kentucky’s next generation of civic and economic leaders. Students who are selected attend the program without charge.

More than 2,000 applications are received at the state level each year, with approximately 1,000 students selected to attend. In order to participate in the program, students must be nominated by their districts to enter at the state level.

Selection for the program is highly competitive. In addition to an academic profile that includes difficulty of course load, GPA, and at least one standardized test score, the application requires an outline of all extracurricular activities, volunteer service, and employment history. A teacher recommendation, which includes both a quantitative evaluation and qualitative descriptions of the student’s performance and potential, is an additional component, along with a community recommendation, which shows how a student performs in a community setting beyond the high school. The final component of the application is an original writing entry.

The Marshall County School District is thrilled to send a new class of participants to the Governor’s Scholars Program, and is proud of the effort and commitment that these students have displayed to earn this opportunity. We wish them all the best in all that they do!