MCHS Star Bank opens for business


Star Bank President Jonathan Roberts, surrounded by his fellow bankers/classmates, cuts the ribbon during last week's grand opening ceremony at Marshall County High School.

The student-run bank at Marshall County High School is officially open for business following last week's ribbon-cutting event celebrating nearly 30 years of partnership with Community Financial Services Bank (CFSB).

Star Bank, presented by (CFSB), became part of MCHS in 1990 and last week saw its 29th ribbon-cutting ceremony -- but this time in an updated facility. The previous classes worked out of a wooden teller window off to the side of the commons area; this year's class is the first to operate out of the new, upgraded space with glass doors, graphic decals, modern furniture, computers and printers. The bank is a central part of the recently-renovated commons area.

Financial Services I and II classes, under the guidance of MCHS teacher Rebecca Phelps, operate the student-run bank as part of their courses, gaining experience in client services and teamwork.

CFSB's Director of Communications Jeremy Rose said Star Bank has been beneficial for both the students and CFSB, reporting nearly 30 students have gone on to careers in the financial industry including 14 who are currently employed with CFSB.

"It is so rewarding for us to see these students learn about banking and more importantly, themselves," he said. "Our team puts each of them through an interview process that is very similar to what they will go through when they start applying for scholarships and jobs."

Star Bank 2019 includes:

Jonathan Roberts, President; Kaden Chiles, CEO/Asst. Collections; Justin Wilson, Chairman of the Board; Ty Buchmier, Executive Vice President/Liaison to CFSB; Maci Brown, Executive Secretary/Assistant Cashier; Addison Riley, Compliance Officer/Auditor; Jack Clark, Vice President of Communications; Alyssa Wallace, Vice President of Customer Services; Case Thomasson, Vice President of Public Relations; Mary Grace Thompson, Assistant Vice President of Public Relations; Mia Jaco, Vice President of Marketing/Social Media; Thomas Wynn, Vice President of Advertising; Hayden Fugate, Head Teller; Griffin Fields, Bookkeeping Manager; Riley Gillespie, Cashier; Kalynn Forsythe, Assistant Cashier; Nate Garland, Vice President of Collections