New era for Speedway
Apr 15, 2014 | 4230 views | 0 0 comments | 52 52 recommendations | email to a friend | print
—LeeAnn Heflin/For the Tribune-Courier
Tanner English wheels his late model onto the track. English won the feature event Saturday night.
—LeeAnn Heflin/For the Tribune-Courier Tanner English wheels his late model onto the track. English won the feature event Saturday night.
By David Green

Tribune-Courier Sports

GILBERTSVILLE – Three years of inactivity came to an end Saturday night for Kentucky Lake Motor Speedway, as stock car racing returned to the 3/8-mile dirt oval.

There were some hiccups for track management under new owners Jim Hale and Ronnie Jones. But Jones called the reopening a success.

“I thought we did OK,” Jones said. “We had a good crowd, had a good car count.”

The 3/8-mile dirt oval reopened with a field of 64 cars in four divisions. A sizable crowd was on hand to watch the event.

Hometown favorite Tanner English won the UMP Late Model feature race. English, of Benton, led all the way in the 20-lap main event. His father, 2000 UMP national champion Terry English, finished second.

Terry English was the track’s first Late Model champion in 1998.

Tanner English, who raced at KLMS as a teenager when he started his racing career, said the track’s condition was surprisingly good.

“I was really pleased with the surface and everything,” he said. “It went pretty good.”

There were some complaints about dust, but English said, “That’s gonna happen. I was very pleased that it [the track surface] was smooth. That’s probably the best track I’ve been on this year.”

Track officials interrupted the program once to put more water on the surface, and that helped aleviate the dust problem somewhat.

“It ended up about right,” Tanner English said, commenting on how the track took rubber from the racecars and the racing groove turned black.

“That’s a racy track when it gets like that,” he said.

Another local driver from the racing family from Marshall County, Troy English of Calvert City, won the Pro (Crate) Late Model feature, with Tait Davenport of Benton second and Jeff Walston of Paducah third.

Trent Young of Hopkinsville, Ky., won the Modified feature. He finished ahead of Clayton Miller, of Elkton, Ky. Michael Turner was third.

Miller did double-duty, finishing third in the Late Model feature.

Tony Cruse of Paducah captured the Stock Car feature ahead of Michael Hendrickson and Kassidi Gibbs.



Saturday’s Results

LATE MODEL FEATURE (20 laps) — 1. Tanner English, Benton; 2. Terry English, Benton,; 3. Clayton Miller, Elkton, Ky.; 4. Tim Brown, Palma; 5. Jason McBride, Carbondale, Ill.; 6. Randy Sellars, Mayfield; 7. Chris Shelton, Paducah; 8. Charles La Plant; 9. Brandon Tibaldi, Almo

Heat race winners: Tanner English, Terry English

MODIFIED FEATURE (15 laps) — 1. Trent Young, Crofton, Ky.; 2. Clayton Miller, Elkton, Ky.; 3. Michael Turner, Paris, Tenn.; 4. Bryce Jewell, Madisonville; 5. Lucas Lee; 6. Steve Ladd, Murray; 7. Rod Reed, Mayfield; 8. Miles Thalman, Hopkinsville; 9. J.R. Mason, Paducah; 10. Darrell Brewer, Mayfield; 11. Jeff Elliott, Mayfield; 12. Michael Stratton; 13. Johnny Young, Crofton; 14. Wally Walker, Hopkinsville; 15. Michael Sabatino, Hopkinsville; 16. Jay Isom, Hopkinsville; 17. Dustin Rollins, Princeton; 18. Todd Riley, Benton; 19. Levi Kissinger, Mount Vernon, Ill.; 20. Ricky Knight; 21. Angie Norwood, Hardin; 22. Brian Selby, Sparta, Tenn.; 23. Fred Thalman, Hopkinsville; 24. Howard Merritt

Heat race winners: Trent Young, Michael Turner, Bryce Jewell

PRO (CRATE) LATE MODEL FEATURE (15 laps) — 1. Troy English, Calvert City; 2. Tait Davenport, Benton; 3. Jeff Walston, Paducah; 4. Evan Taylor, Clarksville, Tenn.; 5. Cameron Brown, Calvert City; 6. Brent Lewis, Harrisburg, Ill.; 7. Kevin Cole, Benton, Ill.; 8. Carnell Parker III, Clarksville, Tenn.; 9. Michael Lee, Paris, Tenn.; 10. Adam Ray, Ledbetter; 11. Levi Ashby, Cunningham, Tenn.; 12. Mike Moore, Murray, Ky.; 13. Grant Gardner; 14. Ricky Waggoner; 15. Jeff Glisson, Paducah; 16. Angela Cummins

Heat race winners: Troy English, Grant Gardner

STOCK CAR FEATURE (15 laps) — 1. Tony Cruse, Paducah; 2. Michael Hendrickson, Symsonia; 3. Kassidi Gibbs, Paducah; 4. Mike Lentz, Herrin, Ill.; 5. Colby Brandon, Trezevant, Tenn.; 6. Tya Cunningham, Murray; 7. Phillip Byard , Lowes; 8. Steven Newton; 9. Mike Watson, West Paducah; 10. Brent Burnett, Lowes; 11. Mike Hodges, Cunningham, Tenn.

Heat race winners: Tony Cruse, Colby Brandon
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis