Number of uncontested races as filing deadline nears
Jan 28, 2014 | 2630 views | 0 0 comments | 287 287 recommendations | email to a friend | print
By Venita Fritz

Tribune-Courier General Manager

Democrat and Republican candidates planning to file for the upcoming primary election in May have until 4:00 p.m. today to complete paperwork to have their names included on the ballot.

As of press time Monday a number of uncontested races are on tap for Marshall countians who will go to the primary polls on May 20.

Only incumbents have thus far filed for the following races: Mike Miller for County Judge Executive, Tim York for County Clerk, Jeff Edwards for County Attorney, Tony Henson for Property Valuation Administrator, Kevin Byars for Sheriff, Roger Ford for Jailer, and Mitchell Lee for Coroner.

For first district Commissioner Bob Gold is uncontested. In the second district Johnny Bowlin will face incumbent Terry Anderson and Von Puckett is currently the only candidate for the third district.

Third District Commissioner Misti Drew had not filed papers for the race as of yesterday. She declined to comment on her plans, saying she is “holding off on any official statement at this time.” Many are speculating she will file as a candidate for the County Judge’s seat, opposing 11-term incumbent Mike Miller.

In the Benton Mayor’s race only Rita Dotson has filed for the office. Incumbent Steve Cary has earlier in the year indicated to The Tribune-Courier he plans to seek re-election but at press time Monday his papers had not yet been filed. He did not return phone calls to the paper yesterday.

For Benton City Council the candidates who have filed are incumbents Butch Holland, Charles Edmonds and Chris Freeland. Tim King, who previously served on the Benton City Council until 2012 has filed for for one of the six seats up for grabs. Newcomer Rita Murray filed for the office in mid-January. So far incumbents Josh Hendrickson and Billy Thorpe have yet to file.

For Hardin Mayor Randal Scott is the lone candidate.

For Hardin City Council incumbents Ronnie Black, Lyn Henderson, Donnie Birdsong and Stacey Brewer will be on the ballot. Donald Spindleman is a newcomer to the race.

Kandi Spraggs told The Tribune-Courier she has recently changed her party affiliation from Democrat to Independent in advance of a possible run for Property Valuation Administrator. Spraggs said she is not yet ready to make a formal announcement of her intent to run, but is strongly considering doing so.

“I’m getting my ducks in a row,” said Spraggs. “I have passed the test for the office and am starting to collect signatures from people who believe I would be a quality candidate.”

Spraggs made a bid for the same post on the Democratic ticket eight years ago and was defeated by Tony Henson.

Those filing as 3rd party candidates have until April 1 to throw a hat in the ring in advance of the general election in Nov. An independent or a member of a third party must file a statement of candidacy by April 1 and nominating petition with 100 signatures must then be filed by August 12. For a county-wide office the signatures may be registered voters of any party. For a district-wide office the signatures must be from that district but still any party.

A complete list of candidate filings will be posted online Wednesday morning at
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis