Northcutt’s 21st paces MC runners
Nov 06, 2012 | 3123 views | 0 0 comments | 9 9 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Staff Report

OWENSBORO – Sophomore Rachel Northcutt took 21st place in the girls 5k to lead Marshall County runners in Saturday’s Region 1 AAA cross country meet at Yellow Creek Park.

The Lady Marshals placed sixth among nine teams entered in the meet.

Northcutt ran the race in 21 minutes, 47 seconds.

Whitney O’Bryan led a 1-2-3 sweep by team titlist Daviess County at 18:28.80.

Other Lady Marshal runners were Katee Moore (30th, 22:19.20), Haley Ford (34th, 22:37.00), Chloe Kerrick (39th, 23:14.20), Savana Peal (45th, 23:52.80), and Rachel Prange (48th, 24:06.70).

On the boys’ side, senior Hunter Hillman and freshman Collin Gunn were 31st and 32nd. Hillman ran 18:31.60 and Gunn was timed at 18:39.00.

Muhlenberg County’s Chase Geary won the boys’ 5k at 15:41.40.

Apollo won the boys team competition. Marshall County placed ninth in team standings.

Other Marshal runners were Joseph Reed (38th, 19:04.30), Jackson Reed (50th, 19:34.40), Colton Holstead (52nd, 19:35.30), Tieler Hamlet (59th, 20:11.40) and Ethan Beyer (61st, 21:02.20).

Coach Chris Kerrick had a very young team, with only two seniors (Hillman and Holstead) on the roster. Moore, a junior, is the ranking member of the Lady Marshal squad.

Daviess County out-pointed Muhlenberg County 30 to 74 to win the team title. Graves County, Owensboro and Madisonville-North Hopkins were third through fifth.

In boys standings, Apollo won a narrow victory with 47 points to Daviess County’s 49. Graves County, Owensboro and Henderson County rounded out the top five.
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis