Marshall drivers rule in PIR finale
Oct 04, 2011 | 3187 views | 0 0 comments | 33 33 recommendations | email to a friend | print
By David Green

Tribune-Courier Sports

PADUCAH – Terry English led from start to finish in the 20-lap Wayne Coakley Memorial race for Late Model stock cars and two Marshall County drivers clinched track championship titles at Paducah International Raceway Friday night.

English, a full-time professional racer from Benton, got the jump on pole starter Kevin Cole at the start and was never challenged, although Cole closed the gap to the leader in the waning laps and clinched the track championship over Tim Brown of Benton, who finished fourth.

Cary King of Benton won his second straight track championship title in the Crate Late Model division and Hunter Lyles edged fellow Calvert City driver Kyle Clark to win the 4-Cylinder Warrior crown.

Keaton Downing of Gilbertsville scored his first-ever Street Stock feature victory on the 3/8-mile high-banked PIR dirt oval and Clayton Miller of Elkton captured both the Modified and the Crate Late Model main events and Mark Moore of Murray won the Kentucky Vintage Racing Association feature.

On the 1/8-mile short oval, Donnie Whited won the Warrior feature and Race Adamson won the main event for High School Warriors. George Herter of Metropolis, Ill., won the feature for Mini Sprints, as the scaled-down winged open-wheel cars returned to PIR after a long absence.

Cole’s margin in driver standings was a mere 10 points over Brown, who ran third for much of the race but was nipped at the finish by Jason Riggs of Harrisburg, Ill. Riggs slipped past as the leaders negotiated lapped traffic near the finish.

Randy Sellars of Mayfield was fifth.

English won six features at PIR in the Late Model division this year, but ended up fourth in driver points because he did not compete in all the races.

Jarryd Holshouser of Boaz finished 13th in Friday night’s feature and ranked third in points. Tony Vancil of Hickory filled out the top five in Late Model points.

In the second-tier Crate series, King finished fourth in the feature, two spots ahead of his closest challenger in the points race, Credence Mott. The finish gave King a 48-point edge over Mott.

Lyles and Clark finished fifth and sixth in the Warrior feature.

Clayton Miller of Elkton scored back-to-back wins in feature races for the Modified and Crate Late Model divisions. He took the lead on the final lap to win the Crate feature.

PIR, whose ownership group includes NASCAR racers Tony Stewart, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Ken Schrader, has scheduled its 2012 season opener for Friday, March 30.
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis