Marshall Couty primary election to be held next Tuesday
May 15, 2012 | 2408 views | 0 0 comments | 10 10 recommendations | email to a friend | print
Staff Report

BENTON– On May 22, voters will go to the polls for the 2012 primary election.

The Marshall County Circuit Court Clerk’s race will be the only county-wide office on the ballot. Incumbent Carla Marshall will run for her first full term following her win to a two-year term of office in 2010. Long-time fiscal court clerk Melonie Chambers will challenge Marshall for the office.

With nine candidates between two parties, the race for six Benton City Council seats is one of the largest contests this cycle. Incumbents Charles Edmonds, Glen Brewer, Rita Dotson, Chris Freeland and Standley “Butch” Holland will be on the Democratic ticket, along with challengers Jeff Wiseman and Bill Thorpe.

Republicans Gerald Anthony Wallace and Joshua A. Henderson will also be on the ballot, but will automatically go to the Nov. 6 election.

The Hardin City Council will also have nine candidates on the ballot. Incumbents William Elkins, Gerald D. Hon, Donnie Birdsong, and Stacey Brewer will once again be on the ballot. Newcomers Gary Freeman, Ronnie J. Black, Lyn Henderson, Dina Byers and Don Maupin will also vie for the six seats.

No Republicans have filed for the Hardin City Council race, or the Circuit Court Clerk’s Race.

Editor’s Note: The Tribune-Courier will continue its normal press schedule Tuesday, and will not have election results. For full results, visit
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis