M.C. Hall of Fame will add 4th class
Jul 24, 2012 | 2195 views | 0 0 comments | 6 6 recommendations | email to a friend | print
By David Green

Tribune-Courier Sports


BENTON – Seven individuals and a state runner-up team have been selected for induction into the Marshall County Athletic Foundation Hall of Fame.

The list of inductees for this year includes the 2002 Marshals soccer team and their coach, Don Walker, and Dennis Joseph, timekeeper for the Marshals basketball and football games.

The five chosen for their achievements as players all participated in basketball and one was a multi-sport standout. They are John Padgett, Van Mathis, Stephanie Gossum, Lori Barrett and Aaron Beth.

The 2002 soccer team compiled a record of 23-3-1, losing only their third game of the year in the state tournament championship game 3-0 to St. Xavier of Louisville.

The team defeated Murray in both the district and region title games, prevailing 1-0 in the district final and 2-0 to claim the region crown. They won the sectional title with a win over Madisonville-North Hopkins and defeated state semifinal opponent Southwestern of Somerset 1-0.

The team was unbeaten in 13 Region 1 matches, outscored opponents 81-24. The 23 victories included 14 shutouts.

That was one of 10 regional champion teams coached by Walker in his tenure from 1991 through 2010. In 20 seasons, Walker compiled a 319-114-26 record, ranking him third all-time among Kentucky high school boys soccer coaches.

The Marshals also won 16 district titles and were sectional champs three times.

Walker also served as assistant girls basketball coach for 10 years.

Joseph began working as timekeeper before consolidation at North Marshall High School in 1970 and continued in that capacity after North Marshall, South Marshall and Benton were merged.

Over 42 seasons, Joseph did not miss a basketball game until the 2011-2012 season, when he was absent from his station on Jan. 11. He is scheduled to continue in his duties for the 43rd year when the Marshals kick off the 2012 football season Aug. 24.

Padgett and Mathis, both deceased, played on standout basketball teams from Marshall County in the 1940s. Padgett played on the Hardin Blue Eagles team that advanced to the semifinals of the state tournament in 1941 and Mathis was a member of the undefeated state champion Brewers Redmen team of 1948.

Padgett went on to play basketball at Murray State and played one year in a National Basketball Association developmental team.

Mathis was a senior on the state’s last unbeaten boys’ championship team. The team, voted into the hall as part of the first class in 2009, lost in the state championship game in 1947. Mathis was an All Purchase selection both years.

After high school, he was a four-year letterman at Memphis State (now the University of Memphis).

Mathis joins Brewers teammates Mason Cope, Coy Creason and Barney Thweatt and coach McCoy Tarry, all inducted along with the team in 2009.

Gossum was a freshman on Marshall County’s other unbeaten state champion, the 1984 Lady Marshals. She scored 2,072 points before graduating in 1988 and ranks second on the MCHS all-time list.

She was a part of four straight district and region championship teams and helped cut down the nets after victories in four consecutive Marshall County Holiday Classic tourneys. Marshall County’s 115-14 record those four years also included a Louisville Invitational Tournament title.

Barrett played for the Lady Marshals from 1977 to 1980. She was the first player from MCHS to attend a Division I school, Murray State, where she played four years and earned Ohio Valley Conference Scholar Athlete honors.

Beth, now an assistant coach for the Marshals boys basketball team, excelled in soccer, tennis and basketball as a student from 1986 through 1990.

He is the state record holder in soccer goals scored (176) and ranks fourth in goals scored in a single match (seven). He is eighth on the MCHS scoring list with 1,325 points and has the highest free-throw percentage (86.2 percent).

The Marshals basketball team was 102-24 during Beth’s career and won three straight First Region titles.

Beth, son of Hall of Fame girls coach Howard Beth, played at Vanderbilt University along with MCHS teammate Dan Hall, who entered the hall last year.

The fourth class of inductees will be installed Aug. 23. The program includes a dinner in the school cafeteria at 5 p.m. and the induction ceremony in the Shadowen Performing Arts Center at 7 p.m. Murray State basketball coach Steve Prohm will be guest speaker.

Earlier that day, the Hall of Fame Golf Scramble will be staged at Kentucky Dam State Park, with lunch at 10:45 and an 11:30 tee time.

The fourth group to be enshrined since the hall was established in 2009 was revealed Thursday on WCBL Radio’s Coffee Call program by MCHS athletic director Jeff Stokes and athletic foundation president Dennis Smith.

WCBL sports director Jeff Waters moderated the program.
Click for Benton, Kentucky Forecast
Sponsored By:
Beaus Blog Logo
Read Beau's Daily Analysis